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General Information

This manual provides guidance on how to use the Alabama Department of Revenue (ADOR) Mandatory Liability Insurance
(MLI) system to assist registrants, record a registrant’s response or process a registration reinstatement or revocation. This
manual is available on the Motor Vehicle Title, Registration and Insurance Portal (MVTRIP).

ADOR is responsible for administering the (MLI) law (Act 2000-554). The law was established to effectively administer and
enforce minimum motor vehicle liability insurance requirements in Alabama. Under the law, “No person shall operate,
register, or maintain registration of...a motor vehicle...unless the motor vehicle is covered by a liability insurance policy,
bond, or deposit of cash (Section 32-7A-4, Code of Alabama, 1975). Act 2006-221 amended Section 32-7A-9 to allow
reinstatement fees to be paid to licensing officials. The Act required a payment of $100 for first violations and a $200 fee
and 4-month registration suspension for 2" and subsequent violations.

The passage of Act 2010-716 allowed reinstatement fees and the submission of current proof of insurance to also be
provided to the Administrative Office of Courts. The passage of Act 2011-688 increased the reinstatement fees for 1°
suspension ($200) and for 2" and subsequent suspensions ($400). The act also established an online insurance verification
system (OIVS). Per the act, ADOR uses the OIVS each month to verify insurance in real time as recommended by the
Insurance Industry Committee for Motor Vehicle Administration (ICMVA). The OIVS was fully implemented on January 1,
2013. Act 2019-446 (effective January 1, 2020) amended code sections 32-7A-2, 32-7A-5, 32-7A-8, 32-7A-11, and 32-7A-
12, which eliminated the mandatory 4-month suspension period on a 2" or subsequent violation, amended the
registration revocation and the reinstatement requirements.

An MLI record is created when the vehicle owner’s insurance policy cannot be verified through OIVS.  When an MLI
record is created, an Insurance Verification Notice (Appendix A) is sent to the registrant requesting verification of
insurance for a specific date. The registrant will have thirty (30) days from the date of the notice to resolve the issue. If
the issue is not resolved (i.e. the registrant does not submit proof of insurance coverage, does not claim exempt status, or
does not pay reinstatement fees), the registration will be suspended and a Notice of Suspension (Appendix B) will be sent
to the registrant. The registrant will have thirty (30) days to appeal the action through the Alabama Tax Tribunal at:
taxtribunal.alabama.gov. Please note, the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency (ALEA) administers a similar insurance
program which may lead to the suspension and/or revocation of a registrant’s driver’s license. The ALEA program was
created by Act 2016-361, and provides that if a person involved in a motor vehicle incident was in violation of the MLI law,
they are subject to a civil penalty. Any registrant receiving ALEA citations should contact ALEA directly for further
assistance.
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Logging In
Registrants may provide responses and/or check the status of their MLI record by going to the following website:
www.besuretoinsureal.com and clicking the below icon:

Respond to Mandatary Lizbility
Insurance verification notice.

Licensing Officials, including ADOR (i.e. system users) should login to the MLI system by logging into MVTRIP — Motor
Vehicle Title Registration and Insurance Portal at: www.mvtrip.alabama.gov.

Juosn

ser Mame

Password:

Your MVTRIP administrator (i.e. supervisor) will provide system access. For additional assistance, contact the Motor
Vehicle Division at (334) 242-9000. Note: a link to the MLI procedures manual is available on the MVTRIP MLI dashboard
(below).

o Mandatory Liability Insurance

UGG

Search Reinstatement Insurance Agent Registrant Insurance
Report Response Company Editor

Records Search

The registrant may access their record by entering their Tag number and personal identification number (PIN) as provided
in the Insurance Verification Notice (appendix A).
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Tag#* PIN *

Enter tag number Enter PIN

Start Response

System users may locate an MLI record by selecting the Search icon on the MVTRIP MLI dashboard.

L5

O

Search

The following screen will appear:

Record Search

Search Parameters

Tag# PIN

Enter tag number Enter PIN

Name DL# VIN

Enter name Enter license # Enter VIN

O Include Closed Records

Find Records | Clear Form |

Enter one of the search parameters on the above screen. This information is available on the registrant’s MLI
Verification Notice (appendix A). PIN, driver’s license (DL) and Tag number are the best search criteria. When searching by
tag or VIN, always use the number zero (0) instead of the letter O.

To search by name, enter “last name, first name” (ex. Williams, Chris). Note that some vehicle registration records
include a comma between the first and last name (Williams, Chris). The “Include Closed Records” box should be checked
in order to view all records.

Select the Find Records button. If the search is successful, the results will be displayed. If no records are found, “No
results found” will appear at the top of the Record Search screen.

Some searches, particularly name searches, may produce multiple results and multiple pages. The search may be refined
by using more specific search parameters (i.e. PIN).

When the correct record has been located, click the “View Details” button.

P
Q View Details
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The following information will be displayed.

Home / Record Details

MLI| Record Details

& Vehicle Info -~
PIN: Year: 1999
Make: FORD Model: F150 4X2 XL SUPERCAB

& Vehicle Owner Information -~ & \ehicle Owner Information <
Name:
DL#
Email:
- _

Overview History Crash History @ QIVS Log

Record Overview

Status: OP (Open) Verification Date: 07/05/2020
Record state: Open Created Date: 07/29/2020
Last Tag Issue Date: 10/09/2019 Last Modified: 07/29/2020

© Stat Response | = Updale Status ‘ P Add Note || 5 View Ciation History

Clicking the arrows will expand the window to reflect driver license number, email address, and address as shown
below. The email address and mailing address can be edited by clicking the “Edit” buttons. Please note that only the MLI
Record will be updated to be used for future notifications (i.e. suspension notice) regarding the issue. The correct
address and email address should also be updated in licensing official’s registration system.

The Record Details screen has four tabs: Overview, History, Crash History, and OIVS Log.

Chernew History Crash History @ OIVS Log
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Overview

MLI Record Details

& Vehicle Info

VIN: 1FAFP53275A188538
PIN: GWB2F9
Make: FORD

& Driver Info

Overview History Crash History [0 OIVS Log

Record Overview

Status: OP (Open)

Record state: Open
Last Tag Issue Date: 10/28/2019

@ Start Response = Update Status l P Add Note

l = View Citation History l

Notes must be added anytime documents need to be attached.

July 13, 2021

Notes should also be used to document contact with

registrants, insurers, etc. For example, “Registrant admitted to not having insurance coverage on the verification date”.
Click “Add Note” and the following screen will appear:

Add Note *

Notes *

The registrant stated that. | v

Notes entered
Attachment

| Choose File | No file chosen

Document Type

o

Enter the comments into the Notes field and click Add Note to save the note. To add an attachment, select Choose File.
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« « 4 B> ThisPC > Documents v ©]  Search Documents »
artn
Organize >  New folder =- M @
A -
~ W This PC
> m Deskiop S b =
> 2 Documents g E E
& Downloads
& Music Custom Office Fax FeedbackHub Outlook Files Scanned
Templates Documents
& Pictures
» ' Videos ]
> & Local Disk (C) =
> e mw Oadomi) { PDF
> = webpage (Mado
v AM4a4Bd29-91d3  AaDSc3e9a-6705-  INV 26-15 (8-19) ~
File name: | custom files (% pdfpaf ~

Select the File from your computer and click Open to upload file. The system user will select the document type from
the drop-down menu (as seen below). Select the “Add Note” button.

Add Note *
Notes *
Bill of Sale Attached v

MNotes entered
Attachment

Choose File | Bill of Sale. PNG

Document Type ©

| "

Text

Bill of Sale

Police Report

Junk Cancellation
Insurance Payoff
Registration Receipt

Citation History

View Citation History

In order to search for citations, click the “View Citation History” button on the Overview tab. This feature
can be used to dispute a registrant’s claim that the vehicle was stored or inoperable on the insurance verification date.

For example, if the “View Citation History” reflects a ticket on the verification date, the vehicle was being operated and the
registrant would be not be eligible to claim the stored or inoperable exemption.

Citation History

@ Citation History for 11JH621

Ticket Number Issue Date Vehicle Officer Name Agency Name Agency Phone
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History

The History tab (below) reflects all documents and transactions within the MLI record. All letters and documents, such as
the Reinstatement letter and the Notice of Suspension document are available from within the History of a MLI record
and can be reprinted by selecting the document icons. The user can also export a pdf version of the history via the
“Export History” button.

Owverview History Crash History (o OIVS Log

History (2)
Date Activity User Status Documents
06/15/2020 Verification Letter was added. System Open & Verification Letter
06/15/2020 Record created by system system Open

Showing results per page

[A Export History

Crash History

The Crash History tab (below), reflects any crashes. If the vehicle has been involved in any recorded crashes, a highlighted
number will appear. If there is no available crash data, a highlighted zero will be reflected. Crash History can be used to
dispute a registrant’s claim that the vehicle was stored or inoperable on the insurance verification date. For example, if the
“Crash History” reflects a crash incident on the verification date, the registrant would be not be eligible to claim the stored
or inoperable exemption

Overview History Crash History [0

Mo crash history found for this recaord's tag.

OIVS Log

When the “OIVS Log” tab is selected, a list of all Online Insurance Verification System (OIVS) inquiries will be displayed as
shown below. The OIVS log reflects all attempts to verify insurance for a vehicle with insurers through OIVS.
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OIVS Log

I

Show |25 [V] entries

Rl"equest NAIC Eequesl Policy Mumber Eesponse NAIC Eesponse Palicy Number CAonﬁrmed s Unconfirmed Reason Code S
s

v s v s
& 17230 000000931309362 ] PKEY4 - System Found Policy Key - VIN Cannot Be Verified
& 17230 000000931309362 ] PKEY4 - System Found Policy Key - VIN Cannot Be Verified
& 17230 000000931309362 O PKEY4 - System Found Policy Key - VIN Cannot Be Verified
& 17230 000000931309362 O PKEY4 - System Found Policy Key - VIN Cannot Be Verified

Entering a Response

OIVSRegistrationRechecker

Requestor ¢ Verification Date
MLIUploader 12/7/2016 12:00:00 AM
MLIUploader 12/7/2016 12:00:00 AM
MLIUploader 12/7/2016 12:00:00 AM

1/6/2017 12:00:00 PM

When Registrant enters their Tag and PIN from the MLI Verification Notice (appendix A), they can respond.
registrant is limited to one (1) response and will receive the following error message if multiple responses are entered.
For additional assistance, the registration should contact their local licensing offices or ADOR.

Response has been submitted

& Vehicle Owner Information - & Vehicle Info
Name: VIN: 1GCEC14V247298321 Tag #: 5447AS4
DL #: PIN: TRS3KZ Year: 2004
Email: | # Edit ‘ Make: CHEV Model:
Address:

Bi Response Summary

Submitted on 07/29/2020

Had insurance: Had exemption:

System users must click on the OVERVIEW tab and click the
have to be suspended for a response to be entered.
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“Start Response” button.

No

4 Request Date
1/24/2017 7:59:22 PM
1/17/2017 7:59:49 PM

1/10/2017 8:38:05 PM

1/6/2017 8:21:57 PM

The

1500 SLVR 4X24.8L

NOTE: The record status does not
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MLI| Record Details

& Vehicle Info
VIN: 1FAFP53275A 188538
PIN: GWB2F9

Make: FORD
& Driver Info
Overview History Crash History [0 OIVS Log

Record Overview

Status: OP (Open)

Record state: Open
Last Tag Issue Date: 10/28/2019

@ Start Response = Update Status l P Add Note l l = View Citation History

Had Liability Insurance

If the registrant had liability insurance on the verification date, the following information should be entered. Note:
Enter Policy # (REQUIRED), policy effective and expiration dates (not required) or select dates from calendar. Neither
dashes nor spaces should be entered; only numbers/letters. The policy number and NAIC number should be available on
the insurance ID card, insurance policy binder or the policy declarations page.

Enter the insurance company National Association of Insurance Commissioner (NAIC) number, if known. The insurance
company name should be auto-populated if the NAIC number is found. The phone number (not required) can be
provided, if known. If the NAIC number is not known, the user may enter the insurance company name in the “Insurance
Company” field. Select the company to populate the NAIC number. NOTE: Some companies have more than one (1) NAIC
number. If the company is not reflected, the company may not be authorized to write Alabama insurance policies.

Select the Submit Response button.

Page 11 of 35



July 13, 2021

On 04/25/2020, the vehicle shown above:

@® Had liability insurance
O Did not have liability insurance

Enter your insurance policy information:

Company Details

NAIC #* Insurance Company * Phone Number

Address 1

Address 2 City State

Policy Details

Policy #° Effective Date Expiration Date

Submit Response Go Back

Zip

A Response Summary popup window will allow the user to review the information before submitting the response.  Click
the Submit Response button to proceed. OIVS will return a “confirmed” response or an “unconfirmed” response.

Insurance Confirmed

Review response before submitting. *

B Response Summary

Had insurance: Yes Company: Alfa Mut General Ins Co
MNAIC: 19151 Policy Number: 352465

‘ Go Back | Submit Response

If insurance is “confirmed” the MLI record will be “CL Closed” and the following screen will appear.
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Response has been submitted

& Vehicle Owner Information

o -
DL #

Email: # Edit

e -

B Response Summary

Submitted on 07/29/2020

Had insurance: Yes
NAIC: 18600

& Vehicle Info
VIN:
PIN: PHBE86
Make: GMC
Company:
Policy Number:

CL (Closed) - OIVS Confirmed: This case has been closed, no further action is necessary.

Insurance Unconfirmed

Tag #: 1475AN1
Year: 2004
Model: SIERRA 1500 4X2

USAA General Ind Co
0285519207101

July 13, 2021

If the insurance policy Did Not Confirm (unconfirmed OIVS response) the record will remain in OP (Open) status and will
result in a registration suspension (S1 or S2) thirty (30) days after the MLI verification notice, if the issue is not resolved.

If the registrant still claims they were insured for the verification date, they should contact their insurer to request that
they provide evidence (statement on insurer’s letterhead) of insurance coverage indicating that the vehicle was covered
on the insurance verification date. This evidence can be submitted electronically to the Department at
www.besuretoinsureal.com or it can be submitted to the licensing official.

Response previously submitted — please contact licensing office.

& Vehicle Owner Information

Name: LOWREY DEWITT JR
DL#: 7199876

Email:

Address: 707 STHREENOTCH ST
APT 202
TROY, AL 36021-0000

B Response Summary

Submitted on 03/10/2020

Had insurance: Mo

OF (Open) - Unconfirmed OIVS Response

If the vehicle was in exempt status (stored, inoperable, or otherwise unused) please visit your local licensing official to surrender the license plate within thirty calendar days from the date of the MLI Verification Netice.

&; Vehicle Info
VIN: IVIW2KTAJIEM296619 Tag #:
PIN: EXD4WM Year:
Make: VOLK Model:
Had exemption: No

KAB94
2014
JETTAZ.0 S AUTO

Failure to surrender the license plate within 30 days of the MLI Verification Notice will result in suspension of the vehicle registration. Please note that the exemption can only be claimed once per vehicle per registration

period. If the vehicle was not insured on the insurance verification date and/or the license plate was not properly surrendered, visit your local licensing official to pay the required reinstatement fee (5200 for first suspension; 5400 fo

second and subsequent suspension) and provide evidence of current Alabama liability insurance coverage.

| View Vehicle Licensing Offices ‘

If there is a discrepancy between the VIN on the Registration/MLI record and the VIN on the insurance ID card, the OIVS

will be unable to verify insurance coverage. The registrant should contact their local licensing official to correct an error on
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the registration or their insurance agent/company to correct the VIN on the policy. In this case, proof of insurance
coverage must be submitted by the insurer on company letterhead to the licensing official or ADOR. Note: failure to
correct VIN will result in future unconfirmed responses.

Did Not Have Liability Insurance

Reinstatement Fee NOT Collected

If the registrant did not have liability insurance on the insurance verification date, the registrant must declare whether the
vehicle was exempt from insurance because the vehicle was stored, inoperable or otherwise unused (i.e. sold) on the
insurance verification date.

@ Please answer the following questions

On 04/15/2020, the vehicle shown above:

O Had liability insurance
@® Did not have liability insurance

Was the vehicle in exempt status?

O The vehicle was in exempt status
@® The vehicle was not in exempt status

What qualifies as an exemption?

Submit Response Go Back

If the exemption is not claimed, it is an admission of an MLI violation and the registration will be suspended thirty (30)
days from the date of the MLI verification notice. The registrant will receive a Notice of Suspension with appeal rights, as
provided by law (32-7A-8). The following message will appear. If the registrant is submitting a response, they can click
the “View Vehicle Licensing Offices” to locate their local licensing office.

OP (Open) - Registrant No Insurance

If the vehicle was in exempt status (stored, inoperable, or otherwise unused) please visit your local licensing official to surrender the license plate within thirty
calendar days from the date of the MLI Verification Notice. Failure to surrender the license plate within 30 days of the MLI Verification Notice will result in
suspension of the vehicle registration. Please note that the exemption can only be claimed once per vehicle per registration period. If the vehicle was not insured
on the insurance verification date and/or the license plate was not properly surrendered, visit your local licensing official to pay the required reinstatement fee ($200 for first
suspension;$400 for second and subsequent suspension) and provide evidence of current Alabama liability insurance coverage.

View Vehicle Licensing Offices J

A Response Summary popup window will appear that will give the user a chance to review the information before
submitting the response.
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Review response before submitting. *

Bj Response Summary

Had insurance: No Had exemption: Mo

o)

The Record State will be updated to reflect the response.

Overview History Crash History [0 OIVS Log

Recard Qverview

Status: OP (Open)

Record state: Registrant No Insurance
Last Tag Issue Date: 09/30/2019

l I Add Mote

@ Update Response l View Citation History

Reinstatement Fees Collected

If the registrant did not have insurance on the insurance verification date, and did not claim, or was not eligible to claim
the stored inoperable exemption, reinstatement fees must be collected prior to removing the suspension.
Reinstatement fees can only be accepted by a licensing official as provided by law (32-7A-12). Fees cannot be accepted

by ADOR.

On the Overview tab, click the Update Status button. Select the reinstatement status from the drop-down menu. Note: the
reinstatement status and payment amount will default to R1 (First Reinstatement) or R2 (Subsequent Reinstatement).
Clerk should have payment in hand and verify the correct amount before proceeding. Add any appropriate notes, if
needed, and click the update button.
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Update Status *

Status *

Reinstated (First) e

) Show Al Statuses

Payment Amount *

$ 200

Notes

The Status will be updated as shown below.

Qverview History Crash Histery (o QIVS Leg

Record Overview

Status: R1 (First Reinstatement) Verification Date: 05/08/2020
Record state: First Reinstatement Created Date: 06/03/2020
Last Tag Issue Date: 01/09/2020 Last Modified: 06/12/2020

C' Undo Last Status P Add Note

l View Citation History

The amount collected, first or subsequent reinstatement, and the related plate that the fee was collected for will be shown in the History
as seen below. The Registration Reinstatement letter (see Appendix D) will be available as a PDF document from within the
History area of the MLI Record. Although the registration record is updated (reinstated) immediately, the update to the state registration
database (i.e. law enforcement database) may take up to 72 hours depending on when the reinstatement is processed. The registrant
should retain the proof of fee payment and the reinstatement letter in the vehicle to provide to law enforcement, if needed.

Overview History Crash History [@ OIVS Log

History (6)

Date Activity User Status Documents Notes

06/12/2020 Reinstatementletter was added Reinstated & ReinstatementLetter

06/12/2020 Amount $200 collected from registrant (BELLINGRATH ROBERT D) for first reinstatement of tag (14959NG) Reinstated

06/12/2020 Record status changed from "Open - Registrant No Insurance” to "Reinstated - First Reinstatement” Reinstated R1
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Insurance Exemption

In order to claim the insurance exemption, ALL of the following conditions must be met:

e If claiming exempt status, the registrant must surrender the license plate, if available, and submit a completed
Request for Registration Revocation form (Appendix E) to the local licensing official within thirty (30) calendar days
from the date on the MLI verification notice. If the registrant qualifies for one of the “good cause” extension
reasons noted on the Mandatory Liability Insurance Affidavit (Appendix F), the plate can be surrendered thirty (30)
days from the end of the “good cause” event.

e The exemption can be claimed only once during the current registration period for the vehicle.
e The vehicle was not involved in an accident during the lapse in coverage.

e The registrant, or a driver, was not issued a citation while driving this vehicle or a vehicle displaying this
tag/registration during the lapse in coverage.

If the registrant claims an insurance exemption, the following message will appear.

Response has been submitted

& Vehicle Owner Information - & Vehicle Info -~
Name: LEWIS JARVIS VIN: 1G3AR47Y1EM448261 Tag #: 47B8G58
DL # 7173200 PIN: ZEP3K2 Year: 1984
Email: # Edit Make: OoLDS Model: CUTLASS SUPREME

Address: 135 DAPHNIE LN
HARVEST, AL 35749-0000

Bi Response Summary

Submitted on 07/29/2020

Had insurance: No Had exemption: Yes
Still have tag: Yes Reason: Vehicle Inoperable

OP (Open) - Exempt With Plate

If the vehicle was in exempt status (stored, inoperable, or otherwise unused) please visit your local licensing official to surrender the license plate within thirty
calendar days from the date of the MLI Verification Notice. Failure to surrender the license plate within 30 days of the MLI Verification Notice will result in
suspension of the vehicle registration. Please note that the exemption can only be claimed once per vehicle per registration period. If the vehicle was not insured
on the insurance verification date and/or the license plate was not properly surrendered, visit your local licensing official to pay the required reinstatement fee ($200 for first

suspension;$400 for second and subsequent suspension) and provide evidence of current Alabama liability insurance coverage.

Plate Available for Surrender (Within or After 30 Days)
If the registrant is claiming a stored, inoperable or otherwise unused exemption, the following additional questions must
be answered:
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@ Please answer the following questions

‘ On 05/08/2020, the vehicle shown above:

() Had liability insurance
@ Did not have liability insurance

‘ Was the vehicle in exempt status?

@® The vehicle was in exempt status
O The vehicle was not in exempt status

What qualifies as an exemption?

‘ Do you still have your tag?

@ Yes
O No

‘ Tell us about your exemption:

Reason * Comment

I Vehicle Inoperable 4 p

Submit Response Go Back

A Response Summary popup window will provide the user a chance to review the information before submitting the
response.

Review response before submitting.

Bi Response Summary

Had insurance: Mo Had exemption: Yes
Still have tag: Yes Reason: Vehicle Inoperable

‘ Go Back ‘ Submit Response

If response is submitted within thirty (30) days from the MLI verification notice, the Request for Registration Revocation
(32-7A-5) form (Appendix E) will be available for download. If the response is submitted after thirty (30) days, the
Mandatory Liability Insurance Affidavit (form 32-7A-11) (Appendix F) will be available for download. The form should be
provided to the registrant to sign. The registrant can also download print the form from the system and complete it prior
to visiting the licensing office. An image of the completed form may be uploaded to the record or maintained in the
official’s files.

Recording the Tag Surrender
To record the surrender of the license plate, the system user should click the “Surrender Tag” button on the Record
Overview tab.
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Overview History Crash History (o OIVS Log

Record Overview

Status: OP (Open)

Record state: Exempt With Plate
Last Tag Issue Date: 12/10/2019
Exemption Reason: Vehicle Inoperable

= Update Status @ Surrender Tag [ ©@ Update Response

[ I Add Note l =

The following popup window will appear. The user has option to add notes, if needed. Select the “Surrender” button
to finalize.

Surrender Tag *
Reason *
Licensing office closed during surrender period v

¥/ Registrant Has Tag

Form 32-7A-11

Choose File No file chosen

Notes

Cancel Surrender

The MLI Record Details screen will appear with a message at the top of the screen reminding the system user to provide

the registrant a copy of the revocation notice (Appendix C) and to update the registration record to “revoked” in the
county registration system.
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Home / Record Details

The registration for this vehicle/license plate is revoked. Please provide registrant a copy of the Revocation Notice. The Revocation Notice, can be printed from the history of this record. Also, please x
update the registration record to “revoked” in your registration system.

MLI Record Details

& Vehicle Info
VIN: 1FTWW32P95EA43895 Tag #: B6OF183A
PIN: DJZ2YR Year: 2005
Make: FORD Model: DRW SUPER

Once the tag surrender process is complete, the record status on the Overview tab (1st screen below) will show the
record’s status as VR (Void/Revoked). The History tab (2nd screen below) will reflect “Record status changed from “Open-
Exempt With Plate” to “Void/Revoked-Exempt with Plate”. The optional uploaded form 32-7A-5 and the Notice of
Revocation to print and provide to the registrant will also appear within the History.

If a vehicle registration is revoked, it means that the current registration is void and no longer valid. However, if the plate
and registration have been transferred to a new vehicle prior to the MLI verification date, the registration transfer should
be verified and the MLI record should be closed.

If a registration has been revoked, a new registration/plate must be issued in accordance with Section 32-7A-11, Code of
Alabama 1975. If a registrant needs to reinstate registration on a vehicle within the same registration year, a new
registration/plate must be issued in accordance with Section 32-7A-11, Code of Alabama 1975. In these cases when the
vehicle is subsequently issued a new registration/plate, an additional $24.25 (for registration/plate fees) is due upon
issuance of the new registration. If the newly issued plate is distinctive, an additional $50 is also due. A personalized plate
may not be reissued within the same registration period that it was void/revoked.

Overview History Crash History [0 OIVS Log

Record Overview

Status:

Record state: Exempt With Plate
Last Tag Issue Date: 12/10/2019
Exemption Reason: Vehicle Inoperable

[ C Undo Last Status H IP Add Note l o=
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History (10)

Date Activity

0611212020 Notice of Revocation Letter was added

06/12/12020 Signed 32-7A-5 Form was added.

061122020 Record status changed from "Open - Exempt With Plate” to "Void/Revoked - Exempt With Plate"

Plate Not Available for Surrender

July 13, 2021

Status Documents Notes

Surrendered & Notice of Revocation Letter

Surrendered & Signed 32-7TA-5 Form

Surrendered

The system user should Select “No” for the question “Do you still have your tag?” and select the appropriate response

(Vehicle repossessed, etc.).

© Please answer the following questions

‘ On 04/25/2020, the vehicle shown above:

_ Had liability insurance

@® Did not have liability insurance

Was the vehicle in exempt status?

@ The vehicle was in exempt status

O The vehicle was not in exempt status

What qualifies as an exemption?

Do you still have your tag?

O Yes

® No

Tell us about your exemption-

Reason ™

Vehicle Repossessed

License Plate Lost or Stolen

Vehicle Totaled

Veh!cle Junked.[JLmK CanceHgtlon required)
- Vehicle Sold (Bill of Sale required)

Vehicle Stolen (Police Report required)

Vehicle Impounded

Vehicle registered out of state (registration receipt required)

System user should verify response and click “submit response”.
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Review response before submitting. *

B Response Summary

Had insurance: Mo Had exemption: Yes
Still have tag: Mo Reason: Vehicle Totaled

=y

The Request for Revocation Form 32-7A-5 (Appendix E) will be generated with all registrant information and the

appropriate response prefilled. The complete signed form should be uploaded to the system or maintained in the licensing
official’s files.

If the tag is not being surrendered within 30 days of the verification notice, the registrant must qualify for one of the
“good cause” reasons listed on The MLI Affidavit, Form 32-7A-11 (Appendix F). Note: In order to qualify for the

extension of time, the applicant must submit this form to the local licensing official within thirty (30) calendar days from
the date the good cause event ceased.

The user should choose “Did not have liability Insurance”, “The Vehicle was in exempt status”, “Yes”, and select the
appropriate exemption reason.

On 01/12/2020, the vehicle shown above:

Had liability insurance

® Did not have liability insurance

Was the vehicle in exempt status?

® The vehicle was in exempt status

The vehicle was not in exempt status

What qualifies as an exemption?

Do you still have your tag?

® Yes
No

Tell us about your exemption:

Reason *

Vehicle Impounded

Military Deployment

Incarcerated

Hospitalized

Licensing office closed during surrender period

Submi

After the reponse is entered, the following summary screen will appear.
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Review response before submitting. %
Bi Response Summary

Had insurance: No Had exemption: Yes
Still have tag: Yes Reason: Hospitalized

Submit Response

On the Overview tab, the record state will be updated. System user must complete the surrender tag process for record
to update status to void/revoked.

Overview History Crash History [0 QIVS Log

Record Overview

Status: OP (Open) v
Record state: Exempt With Plate [
Last Tag Issue Date: 08/16/2013 L
Exemption Reason: Hospitalized

= Update Status @ Surrender Tag l @ Update Response

If the system user attempts to process an insurance exemption response and an exemption has been entered within the
current registration year, the following waring message will appear.

l I Add Mote

l View Citation History
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A Warning

The registration on this vehicle was previously revoked during the
current registration year. Only one exemption is allowed during a
registration period, reinstatement of the vehicle registration following
any further lapse in coverage during the registration period will require
the payment of the reinstatement fees due. The record shouid be
suspended and reinstatement fees along with current proof of
Alabama liability insurance should be provided

By clicking the OVERRIDE button, you are choosing to override this
exemption requirement

Comment *

Z Reset Record H €, Override | @ Suspend

Note: If the system user overrides, a comment must be entered with reason for override. System user should follow
procedures to complete the insurance exemption response.

Frequently Asked Questions

If the registrant wants to know if their response was received, the system user can view the “HISTORY” tab within the MLI
record. The phrase “User has responded...” (As shown below), indicates that their response has been received.

Overview History Crash History [0 OIVS Log

History (3)
Date Activity User Status
06/03/2020 Record is Awaiting Suspension because Registrant responsed Exempt Registrant Response system Open
06/03/2020 User has responded No(Exempt) Registrant Response system Open

If the registrant wants to know when the MLI verification notice was mailed to them, the system user can view the
“HISTORY” tab within the MLI record. The phrase “Verification Notice Created....and sent on (date)” will be reflected as
shown below.
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Overview History Crash History [0 OIVS Log

History (3)
Date Activity User Status Documents
0610312020 Record is Awaiting Suspension because Registrant responsed Exempt Registrant Response system Open
0610312020 User has responded No(Exempt) Registrant Response system Open
05/27/2020 Verification Motice created on 2020-05-27 07:58:42 and sent on 2020-05-29 07:58:39 System Open

If the registrant is dissatisfied by the actions of the Department, they can appeal the suspension or revocation. The
registrant can access their appeal rights (as outlined in the MLI Instruction and Appeal Rights (Appendix G)) by visiting:
www.besuretoinsureal.com and clicking the “Registration Reinstatement Instructions & Appeal Rights” icon.

If the registrant moves from one county to another county, the licensing official in the new county can process the
revocation or reinstatement. The registrant does not have to visit the prior county to resolve the issue.

Amending Responses

System users with MLI Senior User Access can correct a MLI response by clicking the “Undo Last Status” button. A
Licensing Office administrator can use MVTRIP (i.e. CAPSlock) to assign this access to the users in their organization.

If a response needs to be changed (ex. Clerk enters a R1 response when funds were not collected), the senior user can
change the registration status by clicking the “Undo Last Status” button. The “Undo Last Status” screen will then pop up
and the user should enter comments and click the “Confirm” button.

. . . Undo Last Status
Overview History Crash History [0 OIVS Log

You are about to reset the record to its most recent previous status.
Record history about fees for the current reinstatement will be
removed.

Record Overview

Comments *

Status: R1 (First Reinstatement)

Fee was not collected)|

Record state: First Reinstatement
Last Tag Issue Date: 12/03/2019 ks

Cancel

Q\C Undo LastStatusj l I Add Note

l = View Citation History

The status change will be reflected on the History tab as shown below.
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Overview History Crash History (@ OIVS Log

History (9)

Date Activity User Status Documents Notes

06/12/2020  Record status changed from "Suspended - First Suspension” to "Reinstated - First Reinstatement” Reinstated

Reinstatement Report

The Reinstatement report is used to distribute reinstatement fees to the Comptroller’s office each month. System users
with appropriate access should click the Reinstatement Report icon on the MVTRIP dashboard to view reinstatements
processed by the licensing office.

Reinstatement

Report

All reinstatement fees collected each month, along with a copy of the Reinstatement report, must be remitted to the State
Comptroller’s Office along with other motor vehicle fees that are due on or before the 20'" day of the following month.

On the screen, locate the “MLI Reinstatement Report” icon (below left image) and select the icon.  System user can run a
report for a specific office location within a county by selecting “MLI Reinstatement Report-Office” icon (below right
image), however, this report is not used for submitting monthly fees to the Comptroller’s Office.

MLI Reinstatement Report MLI Reinstatement Report - Office

The following screen will appear where the user will select the time period and county, then select the Download button
to generate the reinstatement report.
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Download

Date Range:

Start Date: 02/01/2020
End Date: 02/29/2020
CountyName: | Autauga

The report will show as below:

I:l I:a nee

RF Totals: Countd
Fees Collecisd Sub-Total: $0.00

Mandatory Liability Insurance
Reinstatement Report -
Date Range - 112020 - 1312020

RM Tatals: Court: 18
Fees Collected Sub-Total: 53,600.00

Grand Totals: Countig

Total MLI Relnstatement Fees Collected: 53,600.00

Fees Retained by Licensing Offcial: 554000
Feas to ba ramitled to Comptrollar's Office; $3,060.00

DOR B5% (Fund 0337 012 Dd13): 52,601.00
AL POAE 15% (Fund 0469 328 D413): 5452.00

Updated Date

12020 8:335:26
Al

12rzien 35722
P

/302020 4:35:07
Fil

12172020 1003122
Ak

1/30v2020 2:03:12
PK

1232020 2:45:.33
FKl

12020 121847

Registrant Mame

Driver Licensa
R-Code MHumber

mM 6312160
Rk 8930273
=M TBE1330
BM LOAFE0323
BM BEE4005
RM TEITEGES
RM JEE2d
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Updated Fee Location Tag

MADESOM 200 Autauga

‘ichorial 200 Autauga

wchorakd Z0o Autauga

MADISOM | 200 | Autauga

samarithab 200 Altauga

Iemdon” o0 | Autaugs

ACAVYEMNS 200 Autauga
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This report reflects the number of reinstatements processed and fees collected for the specified date range. The report
should be used to reconcile the reinstatement fees collected. Please notify the MVD of any errors so that we can assist in
correcting the report, if possible, before submitting fees to the comptroller.

Legislative Act 2019-446 established new guidelines for MLI Reinstatement Fees to be submitted to the Comptroller’s
office. Beginning December 1, 2019, the MLI Reinstatement fees must be reported on the monthly summary statement
FRMS 5-A as follows:

Mandatory Liability Insurance Reinstatement — First Offense

$200 -$30.00 Retained by the County (15 %)
$144.50 Department of Revenue 85%  (line 118)
$25.50 Alabama POA&B Fund 15% (line 119)

Mandatory Liability Insurance Reinstatement — Second or Subsequent Offense

$400 -$60.00 Retained by the County (15 %)
$289.00 Department of Revenue 85%  (line 118)
$51.00 Alabama POA&B Fund 15% (line 119)

MLI Status Codes

e OP - open record (in process): An MLI record was created because insurance could not be confirmed (i.e.
unconfirmed). Evidence of insurance coverage must be provided for the insurance verification date or the
registration will be suspended.

e S1 -first suspension: Insurance could not be confirmed; the registration was suspended. (32-7A-8).

e S2 —subsequent suspension: Insurance could not be confirmed, and the registration was suspended for the
second or subsequent time. (32-7A-8).

e R1 - reinstated (first suspension): The $200 reinstatement fee has been paid, current Alabama insurance proof
provided, and the registration has been reinstated after the first suspension (S1). No further action is required.
(32-7A-12)

e R2-reinstated (second or subsequent suspension): The $400 reinstatement fee has been paid, current
Alabama insurance proof provided, and the registration has been reinstated after the second or subsequent
suspension (S2). No further action is required (32-7A-12)

e VR -void/revoke: Registrant has provided an exempt reason (stored, inoperable, or otherwise unused (i.e. sold))
and the license plate has been surrendered to the local licensing official, the status has been updated to revoked
within the MLI system and will also be updated to revoked within the registration system. The current registration
will be revoked for the remainder of the registration period (32-7A-11). The registrant will be required to purchase
a new license plate from their license plate issuing official prior to operating the vehicle again. If they do not
intend to operate the vehicle, no further action is necessary.

e CL-closedrecord: Insurance information provided confirmed and the record is now closed. No further action
necessary.
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State of Alabama
Department of Revenue

[www revenue.ala bama.gow)
PO Box 327630

Montgomery. AL 36132-7630

Mandatory Liability Insurance Verification Notice
1 18 24 2

QOO0001 01 AV 0,380 == ALTO T1 1 X002 I5016-551841  _ -C01-PO0001-1
h””4“””“”dHh“”d”””4””4”4””””““h”'

AR&E AL 3I5016-5B1EB

INSURANCE VERIFICATION DATE: (/222014

viv. I——
VIN:
License PLATE: [N

PIN: ACIW T4

Alabama's mandatory liakility insurarce law is designed to protact Alabama drivers by reguiring
insurance verification. Noncomplianca may result in a registration suspeansion and reinstatement
fee.

Unfortunately, the department was ulable to verify liability insurance coverage for the above
referenced wehicle on the insurance verification date identified above. If tre vehicle was covered
on this date, please provide evidence of continuous liability insurance covarage for the vehicle
within thirty {30) calendar days of the date of this notice. Evidence of insurance coverage may
be pravided by completing an online ML questionnaire at: www besuretcinsureal.com or by
providing the evidence of insurance coverage to your local licensing official.

Registrants may claim an exemption from the MLI law if the vehicle was not operated during the
lapse in coverage due to the vehicle being stored, inoperable, or otherwise unused (i.e sold).
All of the following conditions must be met in order to claim the stored or inoperable exemption:

+ The license plate must be surrendered to the local licensing official within thirty (30}
calendar days from the date of this notice;
The vehicle was not involved in an accident during the lapss in coverage;
The registrant or a driver of the vehicle was not issued a citation during the lapse in
coverage while operating the vehicle; and

+ The exemption was not previously claimed during the current registration period for the
vehicle.

If each of the above conditions have been satisfied, the current ragistration will be reveked far
the remainder of the registration periad. In the event that the vehicle for which the registration
has been revoked is no longer stored, inoperable or otherwise unused, a new registration and
license plate must be obtained before operating the vehicle. Once this exemption is claimed,
reinstatement of the vehicle's registration following any further lapse in coverage during the
registration period will require the payment of reinstatement feas.

Please note that failure to provide evidence of continuous liability insurance or failure to
surrender the license plate to your local licensing official within thirty (30) calendar days
from the date of this notice will result in the suspension of the registration of your
vehicle. For assistance visit www . besuretoinsureal.com, your local licensing official, ar call
(334) 242-9000.
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Department of Revenue

[wnenar revenue. alabama.gow)
PO Box 327650
Montgomery, AL 36132

Notice of Registration Suspension

Qctober 22, 2019

John, Doe
100 Flower Lane
Montgomery, AL 36116

INSURANCE VERIFICATION DATE: 4/21/2019

VEHICLE: Toyota Cam
vin:
LICENSE PLATE: _

PIN: EF&WTS

Alabama’s mandatory liability insurance law is designed to protect Alabama drivers by requiring
insurance verification. Moncompliance may result in a registration suspension and reinstatement
fee.

Unfortunately, the department was unable to verify liability insurance coverage for the above
referenced vehicle on the insurance verification date identified above. Therefore, registration
has been suspended as required by Section 32-TA-8, Code of Ala 1975. If the vehicle was
covered on this date, evidence of continuous liability insurance coverage for the vehicle may be
provided to your local licensing official in order to remove the registration suspension.

If you previously responded to the MLI Verification Notice, you may be receiving this notice
because your vehicle’s insurance policy could not be confirmed with your insurer on the above
insurance verification date. If you had insurance on the insurance verification date, it is
suggested that you contact your insurer for further assistance in providing evidence of insurance
COVErage.

If you qualify to claim an insurance exemption because the vehicle was stored, inoperable, or
otherwise unused on the insurance verification date, please visit www.besuretoinsureal.com or
contact your local licensing official for further information.

If the vehicle was not insured with an Alabama-licensed insurance company on the above
insurance verification date and the vehicle did not qualify to claim the stored, inoperable, or
otherwise unused exemption provided under Section 32-7TA-11, Code of Ala 1975, a
reinstatement fee and proof of current insurance on the above vehicle must be provided to your
local licensing official in order to remove the registration suspension.

If further assistance is needed, please visit www.besuretoinsureal.com, contact your local
licensing official, or call the Motor Vehicle Division at (334) 242-9000.

If you are dissatisfied by the action of the Departiment of Revenue, Section 40-24-8(a), Code of Alsbama 1875, provides in part,
“Any teqpayer aggrieved by any act or proposed act or refusal to sct concerning the denisl or revocation of a license, permit. or
certificate of title by the depariment shall be entitled to file a notice of appeal from swch act or proposed act or refusal o act with the
Alsbama Tax Tribunal. Such notice of appeal must be filed within 30 days of the date nofice of such act or refusal to act is mailed to
the taxpayer” A nofice of appeal form is available from Tax Tribunal website at www teedribunal. slsbama.gov and should be
directed to the address an the form.
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Appendix C: Sample Notice of Registration Revocation

State of Alabama

D epartm ent of Revenue
{w e revenue_alabama. gov
P O Box 327650
Montgomery, AL 36132

MNotice of Registration Revocation

October 22, 2019

Doe, John
100 Flower Lane
Montgomery, AL 36116

INSURANCE VERIFICATION DATE: 4/22/2019

VEHICLE: Tovota Cam
VIN:
LICENSE PLATE:

PIN: ERSD&Y

The department received your response that the above referenced vehicle was stored, inoperable, or
otherwise unused on the insurance verfication date, and has determined that all of the following conditions
have been met in order to claim the exemption:

+ The license plate was surrendered to the local licensing official;

+ The vehicle was not involved in an accident during the lapse in coverage;

« The registrant or a driver of the vehicle was not issued a citation during the lapse in coverage
while operating the vehicle; and

+ The exemption was not previously claimed during the current regisiration period for the vehicle.

As aresult, the vehicle registration is hereby revoked, as of the date of this notice, in accordance with
Section 32-7TA-11, Code of Ala 1975, for the remainder of the registration period. In the event that the
vehicle for which the registration is revoked is no longer stored, inoperable or otherwise unused, a new
registration and license plate must be obtained before operating the vehicle. By claiming this
exemption, reinstatemeant of the vehicle’s registration following any further lapse in coverage during the
current registration period will require the payment of reinstatement fees.

[f further assistance is needed, please visit www besuretoinsureal com, contact your local licensing
official, or call the Motor Vehicle Division at (334) 242-9000.

If you are dissatisfied by the action of the Depariment of Revenue, Section 40-24-8(s). Code of Alabsrma 1875, provides in part, “Any
tempayer aggrieved by any act or proposed act or refusal to act concerming the denial or revocation of a lieense, pemit, or certificate of titke by
the departrment shall be entified to file a notice of appeal from such act or proposed act or refusal to act with the Alsbama Tax Tribunal. Such
natice of appeal must be fled within 30 days of the date nofice of such act or refusal to act is mailed to the tEmpayer.” A notice of appeal form
i5 availstle from Tae Trbunal website at v tedrbunal slsbama pov and should be dirscted to the address on the form.
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Appendix D: Sample Notice of Registration Reinstatement
/;g,;ﬂ\,%\ State of Alabama

ofi A )| enue

Notice of Registration Reinstatement

December 3, 2019

Montgomery, AL 36117

COUNTY: Montgomery

The metor vehicle registration for the vehicle described above has been reinstated by the local
license plate issuing official.

This document serves as evidence of the registration reinstatement in accordance with Section
32-TA-17 Code of Ala 1975, of the Mandatory Liability Insurance (MLI) law. This registration
reinstatement is valid for 30 days from the date of this correspondence. The registrant or driver
of the above referenced vehicle may present this document as evidence of compliance with the
MLI law upen demand to law enforcement.

Any driver convicted of operating an Alabama-registered vehicle without liability insurance
coverage as required by Alabama law, or with suspended or revoked vehicle registration, will be

subject to fines and possible impoundment of the vehicle as outlined in Section 32-7A-16, Code
of Ala 1975

If further assistance is needed, please contact your local licensing official, or call the Motor
Vehicle Division at (334) 242-9000.
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Appendix E: Request for Registration Revocation

MV 32-TA-S

ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE o0
MOTOR VEHICLE DIVISION
PO. Box 327630 » Mo ntgomery, AL 36132-7630 = (334) 242-9000

Request for Registration Revocation

This affidavit should be completed by any authorized person requesting the revocation of the registration for the below identified motor vehicle
no longer being covered by a liability insurance policy. In accordance with Section 32-TA-5, Code of Ala. 1975, the revocation will be subject
to the surrendering of the license plate and registration to the registrant's local licensing official.

Mote: In accordance with Section 32-7A-11, Code of Ala. 1975, this exemption may only be clamed once during a registration period.

REGISTRANT 1 NAME:

ADDRESS 1 {CITY, STATE, ZIPk

REGISTRANT 2 NAME §f & pplicabie):

ADDRESS 2 (CITY, STATE, ZIPk

WEHICLE IDENTIFICATION NUMBER (\VIN): VEHICLE INFORMATION (YEAR, MAKE, MODEL

LICENSE PLATE NUMBER: INSURANCE VERIFICATION DATE {IF APPLICABLE |

Please select the appropriate opfion:
D License plate is being surrendered to the licensing official

D License plate is not available for surrender for one of the following reasons:

‘:l Vehicle sold (bill of sale required)

[j Vehicle stolen (police report required)

D Vehicle registered out of state (registration receipt required)
‘:l Vehicle repossessed

l:] License plate lost/stolen

[ ] venice totaled

D Vehicle junked (junk cancellation required)

I:] Vehicle impounded

The licensing official may require additional documentation to complete the revocation process.

| hereby certify under penalties of perjury that all information provided in the affidavit above is true and correct. | further understand that
providing false or incorrect information could result in a Class C misdemeanor conviction in accordance with Section 32-TA-21, Code of ALA.
1975.

Printed Mame:

Signature: Date:

Licensing official must ensure the registration record has been revoked. This form should be retained by the licensing official
along with the surrendered license plate and required supporting documents for audit purposes.
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Appendix F:  Motor Vehicle Affidavit

MV 32-TA-11

ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 720
MOTOR VEHICLE DIVISION
F.O. Box 327630 » Montgomery, AL 36132-7630 » (334) 242-9000

Mandatory Liability Insurance Affidavit

Thig affidavit should be completed by any registrant reguesting an extension to claiming the vehicle was stored, inoperable, or otherwise
unused for good cause in accordance with Section 32-7A-11, Code of Ala. 1975 and rules promulgated there under. In order to qualify for
the extension of time, the applicant must submit this form to the icensing official within thirty (30) calendar days from the date the
good cause event ceased.

NOTE: All of the following conditions must be met:

« The license plate must be surrendered to the local licensing official;

« The vehicle was not involved in an accident during the lapse in coverage;

* The registrant or a driver of the vehicle was not issued a citation during the lapse in coverage while operating the vehicle on a public road
or highway; and

= The exemption was not previously claimed during the current registration period for the vehicle.

REGEETHANT 1 NAME:

ADDRESS 1 (CITY, STATE, ZIF):

REGIEETHANT 2 NAME:

ADDRESS 2 (CITY, STATE, ZIF). EVENT CEASE DATE:

WVEHICLE IDENTIFICATION NUKMBER [WIN): VEHICLE INFORMATION (YEAR, MAKE, MODEL):
LU

LICENSE PLATE HUMBER: INSURANCE VERIFICATION DATE:

Please check all that apply and provide documentation to the satisfaction of the licensing official.

D Vehicle was impounded.

I:J Registrant, by evidence of military orders, was stationed or deployed outside Alabama.
I:l Registrant was incarcerated.

|:| Registrant was hospitalized or otherwise medically incapacitated.

|:| The licensing office was closed during some of the time period that the registrant was authorized to surrender the license plate.

lfwe hereby certify under penalties of perjury to be the lawful and true owner(s) of the vehicle described above and that this vehicle has not
been operated during the lapse in liability insurance coverage.

SIGNATURE 1:

(SIGNATURE) DATE

SIGNATURE 2:

(SIGNATURE) DATE
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Appendix G: MLI Appeal Rights

!ALPLEAMA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE/ MOTOR VEHICLE DIVISION

Mandatory Liability Insurance Verification/Notice of
SuspensionInstructionsand Appeal Rights

(ReinstatementInstructions foraNO response) Ifthe vehicle was operated without
insuranceon theinsurance verification date, youmustdo all of the following:

1. Purchaseliabilityinsurance foryourvehicle, Liability insurance should be purchased from
an insurance company qualified to do business in Alabama.

2. Provideevidenceof current Alabamainsurance. Evidence ofinsuranceinformation
submitted mustincludetheinsurance company'sname, address, NAICnumber, telephone
number, insurance policy number, effective date and expiration date of theinsurance policy.
Examples of evidence of insurance include an insurance card, policy declarations page,
liability insurance binder, or certificate of insurance.

3. Pay the reinstatement fee. The reinstatement fee for the 1st viclation is $200. The
reinstatement fee fora 2nd or subsequent vielationis $400. Evidence of insurance mav be
provided and the reinstatement fee canbe paid atthe registrant’slocal licensing official's
office.

(Instructions fora"NO (Exempt)" response, vehicle Stored, Inoperable, or Otherwise
unused.) If the vehicle was stored, inoperable, or otherwise unused on the insurance
verification date, please visityourlocallicensing official to surrenderthe tag.

Note: In order to claim “No (Exempt)” status, all of the following conditions must be met:

1. Thelicenseplatemustbe surrendered tothelocallicensing official within thirty calendar
davs from the date the MLI verification notice was sent to the registrant.

2. Theexemptionhasnotbeenclaimed previously during the currentregistration period for the
wehicle.

3. The wehicle was not involved in an accident during the lapse in coverage.

4. Theregistrantor driver ofthe vehicle wasnotissued a dtation during thelapse in coverage.

{(Instructions for a"NO (Exempt)" response, vehicle Sold) If the vehicle was sold on the
insurance verification date, the license plate willneed tobe surrendered to the registrant's
locallicensingofficialtorevoketheregistrationrelatedtothatvehicle. Anewlicense
plate/registration must be obtained forany subsequently acquired vehicle. This will not
affectthe currentregistrationrelated to alicense plate properlytransferred already.

Ifyou are dissatisfied by the action of the Department of Revenue, Section 40-2A-8(a), Code of Alabama 1975, provides in part, “Any taxpayer
agerisved by any actorproposed actorrefusal to act concerning the denial crrevecation of alicense, permit or certificateof titlebyv the
department shallbe entitled to file a notice of appealfrom such actor proposed act or refusal to act with the Alabama Tax Tribunal. Such notice
ofappealmustbefilad within 30 days of the date notice of such act orrefusal te actis mailed to the taxpayer.” A notice of appeal form is availablz
from Tax Tribumal website at: www taxiribunal alabama sov and should be directed to the address on the form.

WARNING

The vehicle may nothe operated while the registration is suspended. The maximum fineis §500 for the 1stviolation and §1000 for each
subsequent viclafon and/‘or suspension of the person’s driver's license.
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